14th Picture


My writing group prompt for this day was to take the 14th picture on my phone and write about it. In the middle of the night I counted my pictures and these words found me. Who knew the assignment would lead to tears of joy?  

 

For My Daughter

To observe you watching 
with a mother’s eyes,

to see, hear and feel

a joyful symphony

of papable love 

floating on raindrops 

of gentle warmth.

Oh dear sweet girl of mine

my heart swells 

with the memory 

of the dance I did

at the news of you

and with today’s joy,

this beautiful boy

that we watch together

with mothers’ eyes.

CRR 

5-31-15

This entry was posted in children, circle of life, grandchildren, gratitude, joy, Mothers, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

