Take Time to Appreciate The Iridescence of Life


10547028_1483489555223491_403332587_n

 

I’m sure the couple sitting near me on the beach thought I was a narcissistic middle-aged woman trying to create the perfect selfie. I held my iPhone in front of me and snapped pic after pic as the ethereal beauty in the sky above me unfolded, iridescent clouds changing from second to second. I forgot about those pictures I shot for a couple of days, until I was scrolling through my Facebook news feed and felt disturbed by the folks (not any of my friends)  who seem to thrive on bashing, challenging, criticizing or discounting every “good news” story or evidence of beauty in another soul that they can. I’m all for freedom of speech, but thankful that those negative folks are generally in the minority. There’s just so many other productive ways one could spend their time and so many more beautiful sounds that could emanate from one’s mouth.

But what do my iridescent cloud pics have to do with the bashing? For me they represent the beauty of life and the reason I get on Facebook. I like to see all of the heartwarming, inspirational stories people post, the gorgeous images they share, the good news they celebrate, and the feeling of interconnectedness that the technology allows us. So I ask myself, why in the world do I even read other people’s comments about stories? Cat killing curiosity I suppose. But maybe I should follow my own advice about spending my time doing more productive and positive things, like looking for the iridescence in life everywhere. More promoting what I love, less paying attention to the people who enjoy bashing what they don’t.

Peace and Love

This entry was posted in inspiration, life, light, natural world, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take Time to Appreciate The Iridescence of Life

  1. Anonymous says:

    so glad you are writing again, my friend! Nice observation of the world around us.

Leave a Reply

