The Wonder of Life


“Authentic spirituality awakens the soul, reconnects us with the sacred, and fills us with the passion of life.  Spiritual developement is not about religious rituals and practices; it is about waking up to the wonder of life.”     David Elkins

Mr. Elkins stated it perfectly from my point of view.  I recently watched author Jill Bolte Taylor’s appearance on Oprah’s television show Super Soul Sunday.  I’ve had Jill’s book,  A Stroke of Insight, on my “To Read” shelf for a month or so, along with 17 other titles.  I know what you’re thinking… But if they’re ordered, on my shelf, and staring at me, I WILL get them read.  I found her interview riveting as she recounted the physical experience of having a hemorrhagic stroke, suffused with eye-opening revelations, and an arduous recovery process. 

Simply stated, her stroke was a gift of insight.  She was awakened to the wonder of life in a way she’d never experienced before, in a way that caused her to feel connected to all and separate from nothing.  She likened it to experiencing the world in much the same way that infants and young children do, before their brains are fully developed.  Think of that kind of connectedness and oneness that enables animals of one species to adopt animals from another as their own.  Her right brain functions were heightened, while her left brain endured the lengthy healing process. 

My first thought is that it’s not truly possible to experience that depth of connectedness without psychedelic drugs, a level of meditation mastery that I am seemingly light years away from achieving , or possibly a stroke like Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor experienced.  Just imagine the quality rating of each second of your existence if you were to wake up that fully to the wonder of life ! 

My second thought is that it doesn’t need to be possible.  Dr. Jill experienced it for us.  We can learn from her.  She has the first hand experience to enable us to understand the power we have to “influence the neural circuitry underlying what we think, how we feel and how we react to life’s circumstances.”¹ Oh how I wish I could have her over for dinner!

Post-stroke, Bolte realized that visitors were bringing different types of energy into her hospital room, some positive, some negative.  She came to the realization that we should all be cognizant of and responsible for the energy we bring into a space.  I’m sure we’ve all experienced people who we’ve felt bring us down or  suck us dry, as well as those who infuse us with positivity, energize, or propel us.  Most likely we’ve at least once in our lives told someone we wouldn’t be good company because we were out of sorts or down in the dumps.  That’s the energy we carry, the energy we are.  Just think about the ramifications of that reality which are occurring every single millisecond, when we’re not even conscious of it! 

I haven’t even cracked the binding on her book yet, but it just got moved to the top of my nightstand pile, to be opened later tonight.   I’m psyched to explore how I can facilitate more of the “all is one and well with me and the entire world feeling” that I’ve previously only occasionally had pre-migraine.  Is there a connection there? Have the white spots/mini-strokes my neurologist detected last year made me more cognizant of the spiritual ? Or have I always leaned that way?  Sounds like I have some self-work to do.  I’d better get on it.

Peace and Love

 1. Amazon.com Book Description  Publication Date: November 1, 2006

This entry was posted in interconnectedness, life, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wonder of Life

  1. To see the world as though we were a child again, where everything is new and fascinating and exciting….how fun would that be! To discover everything as if for the first time, so much to see and take in.

Leave a Reply

