So What?


A USA today article written by Cathy Lynn Grossman titled “God, Religion, Atheism, So What?  That’s What Many Say”, has been on my mind all day.  As an informed and intelligent reader, I know that I should research the populations and the samples used in the surveys quoted, but not having immediate access to that information, I’ll just rant.  🙂

In a 2011 Baylor University Religion Survey :

 44% stated they spend NO time seeking eternal wisdom.  (I’m hoping they didn’t understand the meaning of eternal wisdom.)

19% stated it was “useless” to search for meaning in their life (Really…?)

In a 2011 survey by LifeWay Research :

28%  surveyed stated “It’s not a major priority in my life to find my deeper purpose.”  (So do they prefer to just live a life of clueless meaninglessness?)

In the same article, Mariann Edgar Budde, an Episcopalian bishop in Washington, DC is  quoted as saying, “To be human is to have a sense of purpose, an awareness that our life is an utterly unique expression of creation and we want to live it with meaning, grace, and beauty.”  I could not agree more.  It doesn’t matter to me what religion or spirituality you do or don’t embrace, as long as you live peacefully on this planet, allow others to have their individual beliefs, and most importantly, don’t hurt ANYONE else in ANY way.  But if we become a people who don’t see any meaning at all in our existence and aren’t concerned with any purpose our life might have, and even though I don’t possess a doctorate or a Mensa membership card,  I can’t imagine that perception as resulting in a state of affairs which is harmless to people and all other living things. 

That’s all the ranting for now.

Peace & Love

This entry was posted in religion, spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to So What?

  1. CONSTANCE says:

    I ALSO BELIEVE IN LIVE AND LET LIVE. DO NOT BELIEVE IN IMPOSING MY VIEWS ON ANYONE. WE ALL HAVE DIFFERENT VIEWS AND IT’S O.K., AS LONG AS WE DON’T HURT OTHERS.

  2. Pudgy Padre says:

    Rant on!
    I don’t like “religious” people very much. I’d much rather be around people who are spiritual than “religious” any day.

  3. Monique Descaro says:

    I agree with you…thanks for sharing your thoughts… 🙂

Leave a Reply

