Happy New Year!


Ah, the storied New Year’s resolution. Did you make one or more?  Perhaps you’ve sworn them off and despise the fact that you never can manage to sustain them.  Or do you have a resolution victory tale in your pocket and the bravura to take on another challenge?  I watched a Super Soul Sunday episode this morning and listened to Kathy Freston, the author of Quantum Wellness: A Practical and Spiritual Guide to Health and Happiness advise us to “lean into it”.  She was referring to any lifestyle change we might be considering, not just on the eve of a new year, but on any given day.  Good advice on any level. Take baby steps.

The 13 year old rebel that still resides in me rarely takes good advice, usually stumbling down her own weed and rock riddled path and later admitting that she should have read the Trip Advisor reviews.  So good advice be damned, here I am, not quietly leaning, but publicly (that stigma of social embarrassment is powerful) revealing my resolutions, which involve activities I’ve previously been blatantly inconsistent about carrying out. 

  1. Meditate for at least 5 minutes each day. ( *should qualify as leaning)
  2. Drink at least 64 ounces of water each day.
  3. Exercise at least 30 minutes each day.
  4. Do Yoga stretching series each morning.
  5. Write for at  least 30 minutes each day.

Ta da!  There they are, for you and the whole world to see.

As of this moment, I’ve accomplished #3, #4, and #5, am working on 2 and intend to do #1 immediately after posting this!

Preface- OK, so I actually started this blog entry 2 months ago, but I DID complete it today and it HAS taken me 30 minutes.  So here it is, the first of my daily self-initiated 30 minute writer’s boot camp entries.

Nov 2, 2011

Getting out of the car today, flushed with the autumn sun’s rays, cheeks brushed ever so lightly by the coastal breeze, I was suddenly transported back to 1980, several lifetimes ago, and a day inscribed with spring fever.  Pining for my long distance lover, the one who would soon be the father of my first born child, I perched upon a bench and gave myself over to the first promises of spring, letting it undress me, both literally and metaphorically, as I penned my desirous thoughts and pledged my heart to the one whose soul had touched mine and was calling to me.

*Imagine the sound of screeching brakes here.

But seriously, what does any of that have to do with my extreme couponing trip at the Dollar General?  Among life’s greatest perplexities are those of the mechanics of the human mind, that gargantuan file- cabinet of history, triggers, and function control which we have vacuum- sealed into a space bag the size of a grapefruit.    We can start right now and argue about the science of desire, of the degrees of life satisfaction, of contentment in the present and/or residing in the past, but I predict that those lively debates would still be going strong, long past the winters of our lives. 

There’s not a psychiatrist’s couch on this planet that could ever find me expressing a desire to be that impulsive and shortsighted girl again.  But that girl is the one that grew into me.  That girl was the one who came before me and blazed the trail, rolled the dice, made a bet, and set out the road, that led to another and another and brought me to the very chair, in the very office, in the very happy home I sit in at this exact moment, where I sometimes feel like I’ve lived numerous lives, yet thankfully never at the same time.

What I love about life is the mystery, and the workings of the always intriguing human mind.  Before majoring in education, (and social work, nursing, and pre-med) I majored in psychology, which may explain my fascination with slightly off-center people and sadly, my addiction to Dateline mysteries.  I soak in a good real life psychological thriller/mystery like a lavender bath, minus the relaxation. 

My faith tells me that everything happens for a reason and I believe it would be extremely difficult, if not impossible, to choose an event or period I would willingly erase from the docudrama of my life.  Just as the editing process changes the written, spoken, illustrated, or recorded word, so it is that the who and where we are now could not have been reached via any path other than the one we have walked on. 

As we look forward to a new year of moments that will evolve into memories, I suggest that we should consider each pop-up memory or gut-feeling sensation a gift.  Pay attention to them.  Whether positive or negative, good or bad, each cradles a lesson, a message, a light, presented to us for receiving.

Peace & Love

This entry was posted in intention, life, meditation, resolutions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Nirmal Bajwa says:

    Happy new year,
    Truly said, life is a mystery and we should enjoy this. Its always better to be conscious and responsive but not reactive or repulsive to each and every moment.

  2. Judy Rogero says:

    Love this .

Leave a Reply

