Ambrosia Days


 

“For a long time it had seemed to me that life was about to begin – real life. But there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. Then life would begin. At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life. ” —Alfred D. Souza
(-2004); writer, philosopher

 I subscribe to several daily inspirational newsletters and make a habit of copying down the quotes that touch my heart, strike a nerve, or just make me go hmmmm.  The Souza quote above and the frantic, off kilter, menopausal, hormone-fluctuating day I had today, (not complaining,- just explaining!), made me think about and yearn for one of those long, delicious days that seem to go on forever.  You know the ones!  You’ve been busy doing something you absolutely adore and/or that holds a special place in your heart, and you look at the clock in utter amazement when you realize that only a little while has gone by and you have oodles of time left for more savoring, more enjoyment of whatever you’re doing!  Those days feed your soul and are deserving of descriptions using terms more typically associated with culinary delights.  How fitting then to use the term ambrosia, since it means “food of the gods”. 

As I thought about the last time I had one of those days, I connected the dots and gently admonished myself ( I’m trying desperately to move away from the more painful chastising) for not realizing the answer sooner.  Those ambrosia days are the ones in which I do not worry about the length of my to-do-list or the morrow that seems to be closing in, I simply dive in and relish the ambrosia of now. 

Great thinkers and wise men and women of all faiths and creeds have stated as much throughout the ages.  Below are just a few interpretations of the same wisdom:

“The living moment is everything.” ~D.H. Lawrence

” Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” (Matthew 6:34)

“I got the blues thinking of the future, so I left off and made some marmalade.  It’s amazing how it cheers one up to shred oranges and scrub the floor.”  ~D.H. Lawrence 

“If you worry about what might be, and wonder what might have been, you will ignore what is.”  ~Author Unknown

“The ability to be in the present moment is a major component of mental wellness.”  ~Abraham Maslow

“God made the world round so we would never be able to see too far down the road. ” ~Isak Dinesen

“Slight not what’s near through aiming at what’s far. ” ~Euripides

Every day the banquet is laid for us, the ambrosia is waiting, best not to let it spoil and go to waste!

This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ambrosia Days

  1. Michael says:

    Enjoying my wife’s daily blogs….

Leave a Reply

